Beer summits: Not just for race relations anymore

sneak_baptism

Sneak baptism So, a atheist with a new baby gets a visit from his Christian father-in-law, and walks in to the kitchen to find him performing a “sneak baptism” on the kid.

The guy turns to Reddit for advice, and is told to make sure Pops understands that it’s not cool to be doing that. The interesting part? It seems to have a happy ending:

“I just laid the law down per this post and we cracked open a couple of beers. Honestly he is a really good, tolerant, intelligent person, I just don’t know what he was thinking (and he admitted that he didn’t either).”

I guess Obama’s not the only one who understands the power of beer! And atheists aren’t the only ones who understand the power of trying to be polite (especially after you’re busted).

(pic via Planet Weissman)

2 responses to this post.

  1. My Catholic mother-in-law did the same to one of my kids. By the time the second came, she had already given up on her Catholicism.

    Reply

  2. If my kids had two Atheist parents (my wife is a waning Cafeteria Catholic), and had not already been dipped in superstition, I could totally see my mother trying to do this.

    My brother and his wife, who are both Atheists, just went ahead through the motions to avoid the confrontation with my mother (who doesn’t know my brother is also an Atheist, but I think she knows my sister-in-law is pretty much a non-believer).

    Reply

Leave a comment