Please allow me to (re-)introduce myself

Many thanks to Dale McGowan for giving me a shout-out today on his Parenting Beyond Belief blog . For those who are visiting from there, let me tell you a little about how this blog works.

I don’t pretend to be an expert on atheism, etiquette, or anything else. And I tend to take a “live and let live” attitude, and to try to avoid passing judgment (a holdover from my born-again Christian days — luckily, I was one of the liberal, non-fundie ones). I’m interested in how people can get along with other people, not so much in how to win arguments or confrontations (and to whatever extent I do take an interest in such things, there are many others who can provide better arguments and ammunition than myself).

Some people may think that what I mainly do is provide shy or closeted or just wimpy atheists with excuses for not standing up for their worldview in public. Maybe that’s accurate. I don’t have a problem with it. It’s not like non-God is going to send you to non-Hell for failing to non-evangelize for your non-belief.

I’m currently unemployed, and I have a “regular” blog (yet another link blog), and I know that blogging can be a major time-suck, so I try to avoid spending too much time blogging, so as not to take away from my job search.

As a result, I basically only update Atheist Etiquette twice a week, and one of those is my “Sunday Sermon,” where I indulge myself and rant semi-spontaneously about something about religion that amuses me or pisses me off. During the week, I try to focus on various questions or issues that may arise as atheists try to live (and hopefully let live) in a world that is often ignorant of, or openly hostile toward, those who don’t believe in any deities.

So, basically, you get one blog post a week on the subject of etiquette for atheists, and one a week that’s the same sort of religion-bashing you could find at pretty much any atheist site.

If I ever get a job, I might pick up the tempo (or I might be too busy), but for now that’s what I’m doing. I’ll probably do another post during this week (consider this one a freebie), and then a Sunday Sermon on Sunday.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck on your venture. I am very much behind your approach. It is touch to be consistent. But heck, the effort is part of the virtue !

    Reply

  2. Posted by lneely on September 16, 2009 at 9:08 am

    just dropping by to say hi and make a few drive-bys. neat site, though. keep up the good work.

    Reply

  3. Did someone tell you your RSS does not work?
    People will not follow you if it does not work — they rarely come back.
    Good luck

    Reply

    • Posted by brachinus on September 16, 2009 at 9:03 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up! I’ll see what I can do. I’m not hosted or anything, it’s just on wordpress.com, so I’m not sure what the deal is. If anyone has any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

      Reply

  4. You might check it here:
    http://validator.w3.org/feed/check.cgi?url=http%3A%2F%2Ftriangulations.wordpress.com

    Then, try another Theme and make sure it has no widgits or anything special. Then re-test.
    Good luck !

    Reply

    • Posted by brachinus on September 16, 2009 at 9:35 pm

      I checked it (and my main blog) there, and both check out as valid. I don’t know what the problem might be (browser issue?). The page link that says “RSS” doesn’t link directly to the feed, it links to a page with a link to the feed — clumsy, but that’s all I can figure out right now. Could that be the issue?

      Reply

  5. You might want to send a note to WordPress folks but I can’t help you much more. Sorry

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lacey on September 17, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Hi, today was my first time perusing the site (I am a regular follower of The Meming of Life), and I think you have a really interesting concept here. I especially like the idea of out-Christianing the Christians. I call myself a “recovering Christian” much in the way others use the phrase “recovering alcoholic”. At least I would, if I felt comfortable talking about such things in social situations. At this point I’m not sure what I believe exactly, but I am enjoying reading about atheism from sensible persons. I like your site and look forward to reading more of it!

    Reply

  7. Good luck on the job search, I’m kind of in the same boat. I have to find a part-time job, get some legal stuff taken care of, go to school (I’m a full-time college student) and I do not think I really have the time to blog. The last post (and the one I have scheduled for the future) are drafts that I have been working on for the past month. The post before my last post was just a recount of my legal battle with my name change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

